HomeFund UniverseArthaya Equity Long-Short

Arthaya Equity Long-Short

Allotted 25 May 20263 mo old
By Union · Launched May 2026

Holds at least 80% in equity and equity-related instruments, with unhedged short exposure of up to 25% of net assets taken through derivatives — an all-cap approach with a derivative overlay.

Equity Long-Short SEBI-regulated SIF · ₹10L minimum Regular-Growth plan tracked
Minimum investment
₹10 lakh
₹1 lakh for accredited investors
SEBI norm for Specialized Investment Funds
NAV
₹9.7805
Official AMFI · Regular · 18 Sep 2026
1M Return
▼ 2.03%
Absolute · Regular
3M Return
▼ 3.58%
Absolute · Regular
6M Return
Fund under six months old
Since inception
▼ 2.20%
Since allotment, vs face value
AUM
₹133 Cr
Value Research · 21 Sep 2026
Expense Ratio
2.10%
AMFI · Regular plan · 14 Sep 2026

Daily NAV performance

Official daily NAVs from our archive of AMFI's SIF NAV feed, plotted for the plan selected. Use the buttons to change the period; the dates covered are shown under the chart. The monthly table gives each calendar month's change.

Monthly returns

Month-on-month change computed from month-end official NAVs in our archive. The first and current months are partial: they run from the earliest, or to the latest, NAV we hold.

Building from the NAV archive…

Portfolio holdings

Every line disclosed in the AMC's portfolio disclosure as of 31 Jul 2026, ranked by exposure. The ten largest are shaded. Portfolios are disclosed periodically, so these are the most recent published positions — not live weights.

48
Disclosed portfolio lines
56.19%
Top-10 concentration
73.87%
EQUITY & EQUITY RELATED - a) Listed/awaiting listing on Stock Exchanges - Total
as printed by the AMC
2.08%
DERIVATIVES - Derivatives Total
as printed by the AMC
18.80%
MONEY MARKET INSTRUMENTS - c) Treasury Bills - Total
as printed by the AMC
5.56%
OTHERS - e) TREPS / Reverse Repo Investments - Total
as printed by the AMC
1.77%
Other Current Assets / (Liabilities) - Net Receivable / Payable
as printed by the AMC
100.00%
Grand Total (Aum)
as printed by the AMC
#SecuritySector / bucketSideExposure
01
National Stock Exchange of India Ltd. 25.08.2026
IndexLONG9.71%
02
91 Day Treasury Bills
IN002026X073
SovereignLONG7.53%
03
ICICI Bank Ltd.
INE090A01021
BanksLONG6.67%
04
TREPS
LONG5.56%
05
HDFC Bank Ltd.
INE040A01034
BanksLONG5.37%
06
National Stock Exchange of India Ltd. 25.08.2026
IndexLONG4.83%
07
Reliance Industries Ltd.
INE002A01018
Petroleum ProductsLONG4.79%
08
Maruti Suzuki India Ltd.
INE585B01010
AutomobilesLONG4.03%
09
Axis Bank Ltd.
INE238A01034
BanksLONG3.88%
10
Bharti Airtel Ltd.
INE397D01024
Telecom - ServicesLONG3.82%
11
State Bank of India
INE062A01020
BanksLONG3.78%
12
91 Day Treasury Bills
IN002026X081
SovereignLONG3.76%
13
364 Day Treasury Bills
IN002025Z237
SovereignLONG3.76%
14
91 Day Treasury Bills
IN002026X107
SovereignLONG3.75%
15
Apollo Hospitals Enterprise Ltd.
INE437A01024
Healthcare ServicesLONG3.46%
16
Max Healthcare Institute Ltd.
INE027H01010
Healthcare ServicesLONG3.35%
17
ICICI Bank Ltd. 25.08.2026
BanksSHORT-3.32%
18
Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd.
INE101A01026
AutomobilesLONG3.08%
19
Trent Ltd.
INE849A01020
RetailingLONG3.06%
20
TVS Motor Company Ltd.
INE494B01023
AutomobilesLONG2.73%
21
Bajaj Finance Ltd.
INE296A01032
FinanceLONG2.58%
22
Shriram Finance Ltd. 25.08.2026
FinanceSHORT-2.42%
23
Shriram Finance Ltd.
INE721A01047
FinanceLONG2.41%
24
Dixon Technologies (India) Ltd. 25.08.2026
Consumer DurablesLONG2.35%
25
Divi's Laboratories Ltd.
INE361B01024
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG2.25%
26
FSN E-Commerce Ventures Ltd.
INE388Y01029
RetailingLONG2.04%
27
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.
INE044A01036
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG1.94%
28
Coforge Ltd. 25.08.2026
IT - SoftwareSHORT-1.61%
29
Coforge Ltd.
INE591G01025
IT - SoftwareLONG1.60%
30
Tech Mahindra Ltd.
INE669C01036
IT - SoftwareLONG1.57%
31
Hindalco Industries Ltd. 25.08.2026
Non - Ferrous MetalsSHORT-1.55%
32
Hindalco Industries Ltd.
INE038A01020
Non - Ferrous MetalsLONG1.54%
33
Cipla Ltd.
INE059A01026
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG1.42%
34
Tata Consultancy Services Ltd. 25.08.2026
IT - SoftwareSHORT-1.41%
35
RBL Bank Ltd.
INE976G01028
BanksLONG1.35%
36
Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone Ltd.
INE742F01042
Transport InfrastructureLONG1.28%
37
Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone Ltd. 25.08.2026
Transport InfrastructureSHORT-1.28%
38
SBI Life Insurance Co. Ltd.
INE123W01016
InsuranceLONG1.22%
39
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
INE237A01036
BanksLONG1.12%
40
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd. 25.08.2026
BanksSHORT-1.12%
41
State Bank of India 25.08.2026
BanksSHORT-1.05%
42
ABB India Ltd.
INE117A01022
Electrical EquipmentLONG0.96%
43
HDFC Life Insurance Company Ltd.
INE795G01014
InsuranceLONG0.91%
44
Delhivery Ltd.
INE148O01028
Transport ServicesLONG0.91%
45
Delhivery Ltd. 25.08.2026
Transport ServicesSHORT-0.91%
46
Bank of Baroda
INE028A01039
BanksLONG0.75%
47
Bank of Baroda 25.08.2026
BanksSHORT-0.75%
48
GE Vernova T&D India Ltd. 25.08.2026
Electrical EquipmentLONG0.61%

Showing the 10 largest positions. The full disclosed book, including the short side, is one click away.

Largest equity sectors

Aggregated from the disclosed cash-equity lines.

Banks
22.92%
Automobiles
9.84%
Healthcare Services
6.81%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology
5.61%
Retailing
5.10%
Finance
4.99%

Source: 'MONTHLY PORTFOLIO STATEMENT OF ARTHAYA EQUITY LONG SHORT FUND AS ON JULY 31, 2026' (sheet YK56). The DERIVATIVES block carries an EXPLICIT Long/Short label per line (printed in the column that holds ISIN for cash securities); those labels are used verbatim. Equity, Treasury-Bill and TREPS lines have no side column, so side=LONG is derived from their positive quantity and positive % to NAV. Disclosed exposure statements: Note 4 - 'Total gross exposure to derivative instruments as on July 31, 2026 is 274.42 Lakh (Investment in Long Futures)'; Note 9 - 'Total %age of existing assets hedged through futures: 15.43%' and 'Total exposure due to futures (non hedging positions) as a %age of net assets : 17.50%'. Options and swaps positions are Nil. All DEBT INSTRUMENTS sub-categories are printed NIL, so sleeves.debt is left null rather than assumed zero; sleeves.other is left null because the AMC prints separate Money Market / OTHERS / Other Current Assets sub-totals rather than one 'other' total (all reproduced in disclosedSleeveLabels). GRAND TOTAL (AUM) Rs 13,252.96 lakhs. Allotment date 25 May 2026.

Normalised from the AMC's published portfolio statement. Derivative market value, notional exposure and regulatory gross exposure can be measured on different bases, so the AMC's own statement remains controlling. Holdings are historical and change without notice — this is not a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

How the fund actually invests

Arthaya Equity Long Short Fund is Union Mutual Fund's first strategy under Arthaya SIF — an open-ended, actively managed equity long-short strategy across market capitalisations, benchmarked to NIFTY 200 TRI, with daily subscription and redemption and Risk Band Level 5.

A flexible, all-cap equity long-short mandate. The ISID states the objective as: "The investment objective of the Investment Strategy is to generate long-term capital appreciation over the investment cycle by deploying capital in equity and equity related instruments including limited short exposure through derivatives across the market capitalisation," with the standard no-assurance caveat. It is categorised as an Equity Long-Short Fund with investment strategy code ARTH/O/E/ELSF/26/03/0001/UNIN. 'Arthaya' is Union Mutual Fund's SIF brand.

Asset allocation and the 25% unhedged short cap. The ISID's indicative allocation (as a % of total assets) is: Equity and equity-related instruments (including unhedged short exposure) 80%-100%; Debt and Money Market Instruments including units of debt oriented mutual fund schemes 0%-20%; Units issued by InvITs 0%-20%. The indicative table is more granular: equity derivatives for non-hedging purposes may run Long up to 100% with Unhedged Short Exposure up to 25%; hedged positions in equity and equity related instruments up to 100% of net assets; short selling up to 25%; securities lending up to 20% of net assets (maximum 5% to any single approved intermediary). Cumulative gross exposure must not exceed 100% of net assets.

Benchmarked to NIFTY 200 TRI, with an explicit rationale. The ISID justifies the benchmark on universe grounds: "The investment strategy would predominantly operate in stocks in the F&O space (largecap and midcap stocks), while taking measured exposure to smallcap stocks to generate alpha. As large part of the universe of operation is within top 200 stocks, NSE 200 is chosen as appropriate benchmark." Both the strategy and the benchmark are shown at Risk band Level 5 on the ISID cover page.

Discretionary, not systematic. The investment-approach section describes "an actively managed strategy seeking to generate long term capital appreciation by investing predominantly in equity & equity related instruments," adding that the strategy "offers flexibility across market capitalisations, allowing the fund manager to invest without being constrained by any specific market-cap segment or investment style" and "aims to judiciously manage exposure by balancing equity long and short positions, guided by the fund manager's market outlook and the prevailing risk-reward dynamics at different points in time." The ISID tabulates the short-side derivative strategies it may deploy, including Short Futures and Synthetic Short, with risk levels and the conditions under which each would be used.

Daily dealing, no listing, and a low incremental ticket. Both subscription and redemption frequency are "Daily (only Business Days)." Because the strategy is open-ended and dealt at NAV on all business days, "units of the Investment Strategy are not proposed to be listed on any stock exchange," though the Trustee reserves the right to list later. Minimum application is Rs 10,00,000 in multiples of Re 1 (Rs 1,00,000 for accredited investors), additional purchases are Rs 10,000, and minimum redemption is only Rs 1,000 and in multiples of Re 1 — subject throughout to the Rs 10 lakh PAN-level minimum across all Arthaya SIF strategies.

Fund mechanics

Benchmark
NIFTY 200 TRI (Total Return Index). Benchmark risk band: Level 5
Asset allocation
Indicative allocation as % of total assets: Equity and equity-related instruments (including unhedged short exposure) 80%-100%; Debt and Money Market Instruments including units of debt oriented mutual fund schemes 0%-20%; Units issued by InvITs 0%-20%
Unhedged short cap
Unhedged Short Exposure up to 25% (equity derivatives for non-hedging purposes; the corresponding long leg is up to 100%). Short selling is separately capped at up to 25% per Clause 6 of the Sixth Schedule of the SEBI (Mutual Funds) Regulations, 2026. Hedged positions in equity and equity related instruments may go up to 100% of net assets
Exit load
1% if redeemed or switched out on or before completion of 1 year from the date of allotment of units; Nil if redeemed or switched out after completion of 1 year from the date of allotment of units
Minimum investment
During NFO and on a continuous basis, fresh purchase: Rs 10,00,000 and in multiples of Re 1 thereafter (accredited investors Rs 1,00,000 and in multiples of Re 1). Minimum additional purchase: Rs 10,000 and in multiples of Rs 1. Minimum redemption/switch out: Rs 1,000 and in multiples of Re 1. SIP/SWP/STP: Rs 10,000 and in multiples of Re 1, minimum 6 instalments. PAN-level minimum across all Arthaya SIF strategies: Rs 10 lakh
Subscription/redemption
Open-ended, not interval. Subscription frequency: Daily (only Business Days). Redemption frequency: Daily (only Business Days), commencing not later than five working days from the date of allotment. Redemption proceeds transferred within three working days from the date of the redemption request. Units are not proposed to be listed on any stock exchange, though the Trustee reserves the right to list later
Plans & options
Direct Plan and Regular Plan. Options under each plan: Growth, and Income Distribution cum Capital Withdrawal (IDCW) with Reinvestment and Payout facilities. Default Option: Growth. Default Facility: Reinvestment of IDCW
Date of allotment
Not disclosed by the AMC. The ISID states only that the NFO opened on May 04, 2026 and closed on May 18, 2026, with the strategy available for ongoing sale and repurchase "not later than five working days from the date of allotment"; no explicit allotment date appears in the ISID, the KIM or the Arthaya SIF fund page. Groww lists both fund managers as managing the fund from "May 2026 - Present."
Risk band
Risk band Level 5 (stated in text on the ISID cover page). Benchmark (NIFTY 200 Total Return Index) risk band Level 5. The ISID notes "The Risk Band has been as specified by AMFI" and that NFO-stage labelling is based on internal assessment and may vary post-NFO

Sources: Union Mutual Fund / Arthaya SIF — Arthaya Equity Long Short Fund, Investment Strategy Information Document (ISID), dated April 17, 2026 · Union Mutual Fund — Arthaya Equity Long Short Fund, Key Information Memorandum (KIM) · Arthaya SIF — Arthaya Equity Long Short Fund scheme page. Scheme facts are as disclosed by the AMC at the time of writing; fund managers, load structures and allocation bands can change — always read the current SID/KIM before investing.

Documents & source files

Everything on this page traces back to a document Union published. Here they are, so you can read the primary source yourself rather than take our word for it.

When new documents appear. AMCs publish the previous month's factsheet and portfolio disclosure in the first week or so of each month — so from around the 8th you can generally expect the prior month-end file. Our desk re-checks every AMC on that cycle and updates the holdings and figures on this page. Links point to the AMC's own site, so you always land on their current file, not a stale copy of ours.

Every Equity Long-Short SIF we track

All Equity Long-Short funds we track, with their latest NAV, trailing returns, size and risk level. This fund is highlighted. Click a column heading to sort the table; the # column then shows each fund's position on that column. It is arithmetic on the period you chose, not a rating or a recommendation. Most SIFs are young, so check each fund's age before comparing. Open any fund's page from its name, or use the compare tool for a side-by-side view.

#NAV
Loading live data…

“—” means the fund is too young for that period or the figure isn't disclosed yet. Default order: 3-month return. NAV and returns follow the plan selected above (Growth option); AUM and risk level from Value Research.

What an Equity Long-Short SIF actually does

Holds at least 80% in equity and equity-related instruments, with unhedged short exposure of up to 25% of net assets taken through derivatives — an all-cap approach with a derivative overlay.

Every Specialized Investment Fund sits between mutual funds and PMS: a ₹10 lakh minimum (aggregated per PAN per AMC), SEBI's Chapter VI-C framework, and mutual-fund-grade taxation — equity-oriented strategies attract 12.5% LTCG after 12 months. Learn the mechanics on our What is a SIF page, or read the August 2026 Coverage Report.

On sourcing. The scheme facts on this page are taken from the AMC's own Scheme Information Document, Investment Strategy Information Document and Key Information Memorandum, with the source linked above. The live NAV comes from AMFI; AUM and risk level from Value Research; the expense ratio from AMFI. Where a detail is not disclosed by the AMC we say so rather than estimate it — we never guess a number.

Questions about this fund?

SIFs carry a ₹10 lakh minimum and real derivative risk. Talk to a Trustner relationship manager — 20 minutes, no fee, no obligation. We are an AMFI-registered distributor (ARN-286886); we do not provide personalised investment advice.

Book a call → Compare with other SIFs Back to all 33 SIFs
Who runs the money

The management team

The people named as designated fund managers in the scheme's official disclosures. Fund managers can change over the life of a scheme — verify against the current KIM before investing.

RA
Rajesh Aynor
Named in the ISID as "Mr. Rajesh Aynor - Fund Manager" and in the KIM as Fund Manager; the Arthaya SIF fund page describes his role as Investment Lead - SIF (Specialised Investment Fund). Age 47; B.E. (Chemical Engineering), MBA (Finance); over 21 years in investment research and fund management. With Union Asset Management Company since August 1, 2025 as Investment Lead SIF; previously Head of Equities at Prajana Advisors (2024-2025), Fund Manager at ITI Long Short Fund (2017-2024), Sr Equity Research Analyst at MetLife India Insurance (2010-2017), Fund Manager - Overseas Investments at Mirae Asset AMC (2007-2009) and Equity Research Analyst at Tata AMC (2005-2007). Tenure: not applicable as it is a new investment strategy.
HB
Hiten Bhadra
Named in the KIM as "Mr. Hiten Bhadra (Co-Fund Manager) (for Arbitrage portion)"; the Arthaya SIF fund page lists him as Co-Fund Manager (For Arbitrage Portion). He is not named in the fund-manager table of the ISID. Tenure: not applicable as it is a new investment strategy.
Trustner relationship manager
Talk to us 1:1 about how Arthaya Equity Long-Short works, its terms and the paperwork. 20 minutes. No fee.
Book a call →