HomeFund UniverseSapphire Equity Long-Short

Sapphire Equity Long-Short

Allotted 29 Apr 20264 mo old
By Franklin Templeton · Launched Apr 2026

Holds at least 80% in equity and equity-related instruments, with unhedged short exposure of up to 25% of net assets taken through derivatives — an all-cap approach with a derivative overlay.

Equity Long-Short SEBI-regulated SIF · ₹10L minimum Regular-Growth plan tracked
Minimum investment
₹10 lakh
₹1 lakh for accredited investors
SEBI norm for Specialized Investment Funds
NAV
₹987.435
Official AMFI · Regular · 18 Sep 2026
1M Return
▼ 1.92%
Absolute · Regular
3M Return
▼ 2.13%
Absolute · Regular
6M Return
Fund under six months old
Since inception
▼ 1.26%
Since allotment, vs face value
AUM
₹204 Cr
Value Research · 21 Sep 2026
Expense Ratio
2.10%
AMFI · Regular plan · 11 Sep 2026

Daily NAV performance

Official daily NAVs from our archive of AMFI's SIF NAV feed, plotted for the plan selected. Use the buttons to change the period; the dates covered are shown under the chart. The monthly table gives each calendar month's change.

Monthly returns

Month-on-month change computed from month-end official NAVs in our archive. The first and current months are partial: they run from the earliest, or to the latest, NAV we hold.

Building from the NAV archive…

Portfolio holdings

Every line disclosed in the AMC's portfolio disclosure as of 31 Jul 2026, ranked by exposure. The ten largest are shaded. Portfolios are disclosed periodically, so these are the most recent published positions — not live weights.

113
Disclosed portfolio lines
30.35%
Top-10 concentration
97.21%
Equity & Equity related - (a) Listed / awaiting listing on Stock Exchanges - Sub Total
as printed by the AMC
97.21%
Equity & Equity related - Total
as printed by the AMC
2.79%
Call, Cash & Other Assets
as printed by the AMC
100.00%
Net Assets
as printed by the AMC
#SecuritySector / bucketSideExposure
01
ICICI Bank Ltd
INE090A01021
BanksLONG5.27%
02
HDFC Bank Ltd
INE040A01034
BanksLONG5.10%
03
Reliance Industries Ltd
INE002A01018
Petroleum ProductsLONG3.47%
04
Larsen & Toubro Ltd
INE018A01030
ConstructionLONG3.07%
05
Infosys Ltd
INE009A01021
IT - SoftwareLONG2.97%
06
Axis Bank Ltd
INE238A01034
BanksLONG2.77%
07
Bharti Airtel Ltd
INE397D01024
Telecom - ServicesLONG2.48%
08
Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd
INE101A01026
AutomobilesLONG1.99%
09
Tata Consultancy Services Ltd
INE467B01029
IT - SoftwareLONG1.62%
10
ITC Ltd
INE154A01025
Diversified FMCGLONG1.61%
11
BSE Ltd
INE118H01025
Capital MarketsLONG1.60%
12
Nestle India Ltd
INE239A01024
Food ProductsLONG1.54%
13
Titan Co Ltd
INE280A01028
Consumer DurablesLONG1.49%
14
Hindalco Industries Ltd
INE038A01020
Non - Ferrous MetalsLONG1.38%
15
Laurus Labs Ltd
INE947Q01028
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG1.36%
16
Samvardhana Motherson International Ltd
INE775A01035
Auto ComponentsLONG1.31%
17
Ultratech Cement Ltd
INE481G01011
Cement & Cement ProductsLONG1.26%
18
Interglobe Aviation Ltd
INE646L01027
Transport ServicesLONG1.24%
19
Eternal Ltd
INE758T01015
RetailingLONG1.19%
20
Bajaj Auto Ltd
INE917I01010
AutomobilesLONG1.19%
21
Tata Motors Ltd
INE1TAE01010
Agricultural, Commercial & Construction VehiclesLONG1.19%
22
Adani Power Ltd
INE814H01029
PowerLONG1.17%
23
Hero MotoCorp Ltd
INE158A01026
AutomobilesLONG1.16%
24
State Bank of India
INE062A01020
BanksLONG1.16%
25
Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles Ltd
INE155A01022
AutomobilesLONG1.12%
26
Muthoot Finance Ltd
INE414G01012
FinanceLONG1.09%
27
Indian Hotels Co Ltd
INE053A01029
Leisure ServicesLONG1.08%
28
Oracle Financial Services Software Ltd
INE881D01027
IT - SoftwareLONG1.07%
29
Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd
INE066F01020
Aerospace & DefenseLONG1.06%
30
Tata Steel Ltd
INE081A01020
Ferrous MetalsLONG1.06%
31
Power Finance Corporation Ltd
INE134E01011
FinanceLONG1.05%
32
Coal India Ltd
INE522F01014
Consumable FuelsLONG0.93%
33
Lupin Ltd
INE326A01037
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.93%
34
Apar Industries Ltd
INE372A01015
Electrical EquipmentLONG0.92%
35
Cummins India Ltd
INE298A01020
Industrial ProductsLONG0.89%
36
HDFC Asset Management Co Ltd
INE127D01025
Capital MarketsLONG0.88%
37
Trent Ltd
INE849A01020
RetailingLONG0.86%
38
Aurobindo Pharma Ltd
INE406A01037
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.85%
39
Bajaj Holdings & Investment Ltd
INE118A01012
FinanceLONG0.85%
40
Lodha Developers Ltd
INE670K01029
RealtyLONG0.84%
41
Bharat Electronics Ltd
INE263A01024
Aerospace & DefenseLONG0.83%
42
Bharat Forge Ltd
INE465A01025
Auto ComponentsLONG0.81%
43
Karur Vysya Bank Ltd
INE036D01028
BanksLONG0.81%
44
Redington Ltd
INE891D01026
Commercial Services & SuppliesLONG0.79%
45
Kalpataru Projects International Ltd
INE220B01022
ConstructionLONG0.78%
46
Fortis Healthcare Ltd
INE061F01013
Healthcare ServicesLONG0.77%
47
Bandhan Bank Ltd
INE545U01014
BanksLONG0.76%
48
Union Bank Of India
INE692A01016
BanksLONG0.72%
49
Bank of Baroda
INE028A01039
BanksLONG0.71%
50
Bank Of Maharashtra
INE457A01014
BanksLONG0.71%
51
Delhivery Ltd
INE148O01028
Transport ServicesLONG0.71%
52
Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd
INE029A01011
Petroleum ProductsLONG0.71%
53
Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd
INE935A01035
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.69%
54
REC Ltd
INE020B01018
FinanceLONG0.69%
55
Colgate Palmolive (India) Ltd
INE259A01022
Personal ProductsLONG0.68%
56
Polycab India Ltd
INE455K01017
Industrial ProductsLONG0.66%
57
Dabur India Ltd
INE016A01026
Personal ProductsLONG0.66%
58
Hitachi Energy India Ltd
INE07Y701011
Electrical EquipmentLONG0.65%
59
LIC Housing Finance Ltd
INE115A01026
FinanceLONG0.64%
60
Tata Capital Ltd
INE976I01016
FinanceLONG0.61%
61
Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Ltd
INE213A01029
OilLONG0.61%
62
NMDC Ltd
INE584A01023
Minerals & MiningLONG0.61%
63
Canara Bank
INE476A01022
BanksLONG0.60%
64
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd
INE237A01036
BanksLONG0.60%
65
Creditaccess Grameen Ltd
INE741K01010
FinanceLONG0.59%
66
Multi Commodity Exchange Of India Ltd
INE745G01043
Capital MarketsLONG0.58%
67
General Insurance Corporation Of India
INE481Y01014
InsuranceLONG0.55%
68
Great Eastern Shipping Co Ltd
INE017A01032
Transport ServicesLONG0.54%
69
Elgi Equipments Ltd
INE285A01027
Industrial ProductsLONG0.52%
70
ITC Hotels Ltd
INE379A01028
Leisure ServicesLONG0.52%
71
Hindustan Zinc Ltd
INE267A01025
Non - Ferrous MetalsLONG0.49%
72
Indegene Ltd
INE065X01017
Healthcare ServicesLONG0.49%
73
Vedanta Aluminium Metal Ltd
INE1CDF01017
Non - Ferrous MetalsLONG0.48%
74
LG Electronics India Ltd
INE324D01010
Consumer DurablesLONG0.47%
75
Bajaj Finance Ltd
INE296A01032
FinanceLONG0.45%
76
Atul Ltd
INE100A01010
Chemicals & PetrochemicalsLONG0.45%
77
Indraprastha Gas Ltd
INE203G01027
GasLONG0.44%
78
Granules India Ltd
INE101D01020
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.43%
79
Godrej Properties Ltd
INE484J01027
RealtyLONG0.42%
80
NLC India Ltd
INE589A01014
PowerLONG0.39%
81
Vedanta Ltd
INE205A01025
Diversified MetalsLONG0.39%
82
Castrol India Ltd
INE172A01027
Petroleum ProductsLONG0.37%
83
Bosch Ltd
INE323A01026
Auto ComponentsLONG0.34%
84
Natco Pharma Ltd
INE987B01026
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.34%
85
The Jammu & Kashmir Bank Ltd
INE168A01041
BanksLONG0.32%
86
Vodafone Idea Ltd
INE669E01016
Telecom - ServicesLONG0.31%
87
Anand Rathi Wealth Ltd
INE463V01026
Capital MarketsLONG0.31%
88
Godfrey Phillips India Ltd
INE260B01028
Cigarettes & Tobacco ProductsLONG0.30%
89
HDB Financial Services Ltd
INE756I01012
FinanceLONG0.30%
90
R R Kabel Ltd
INE777K01022
Industrial ProductsLONG0.30%
91
Birlasoft Ltd
INE836A01035
IT - SoftwareLONG0.30%
92
Indus Towers Ltd
INE121J01017
Telecom - ServicesLONG0.29%
93
Indian Oil Corporation Ltd
INE242A01010
Petroleum ProductsLONG0.28%
94
Mahanagar Gas Ltd
INE002S01010
GasLONG0.28%
95
Torrent Power Ltd
INE813H01021
PowerLONG0.27%
96
Anant Raj Ltd
INE242C01024
RealtyLONG0.26%
97
Life Insurance Corporation Of India
INE0J1Y01017
InsuranceLONG0.25%
98
Honasa Consumer Ltd
INE0J5401028
Personal ProductsLONG0.25%
99
Gujarat Energy Ltd
INE844O01030
GasLONG0.24%
100
Radico Khaitan Ltd
INE944F01028
BeveragesLONG0.24%
101
Lenskart Solutions Ltd
INE956O01016
RetailingLONG0.24%
102
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd
INE044A01036
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.24%
103
Hindustan Unilever Ltd
INE030A01027
Diversified FMCGLONG0.23%
104
JM Financial Ltd
INE780C01023
FinanceLONG0.22%
105
Tenneco Clean Air India Ltd
INE19RI01016
Auto ComponentsLONG0.22%
106
Jio Financial Services Ltd
INE758E01017
FinanceLONG0.21%
107
Anthem Biosciences Ltd
INE0CZ201020
Pharmaceuticals & BiotechnologyLONG0.21%
108
eClerx Services Ltd
INE738I01010
Commercial Services & SuppliesLONG0.20%
109
Adani Energy Solutions Ltd
INE931S01010
PowerLONG0.20%
110
Asian Paints Ltd
INE021A01026
Consumer DurablesLONG0.20%
111
Nippon Life India Asset Management Ltd
INE298J01013
Capital MarketsLONG0.20%
112
Punjab National Bank
INE160A01022
BanksLONG0.19%
113
GSPL Transmission Ltd
INE1TUG01013
GasLONG0.03%

Showing the 10 largest positions. The full disclosed book, including the short side, is one click away.

Largest equity sectors

Aggregated from the disclosed cash-equity lines.

Banks
19.71%
Finance
6.72%
IT - Software
5.96%
Automobiles
5.46%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology
5.05%
Petroleum Products
4.83%

Source is Franklin Templeton's 'Portfolio Statement as on July 31, 2026' (sheet SIELS). There is NO Long/Short column; every line is a cash-market equity holding with positive quantity and positive '% to Net Assets', so side=LONG is derived from the positive sign of quantity and % to net assets. The statement explicitly discloses 'd) Exposure to Derivative Instruments: Nil' and 'e) Outstanding derivative exposure as % to net assets: Nil' as on 31-Jul-2026, i.e. no short book was open at month end. Net Assets Rs 20,450.0129017 lakhs; Portfolio Turnover Ratio 0.151062901874034. Security names were printed with trailing collateral/listing footnote markers (^ ~~, # ~~, $ ~~, $$ ~~, ! ~~, @@); these trailing markers were stripped from 'name' - no other change. GSPL Transmission Ltd is marked '@@ awaiting listing'. Fund units carry a Rs 1,000 face value (NAV 1009.6192 Growth / 1014.0970 Direct Growth at 31-Jul-2026).

Normalised from the AMC's published portfolio statement. Derivative market value, notional exposure and regulatory gross exposure can be measured on different bases, so the AMC's own statement remains controlling. Holdings are historical and change without notice — this is not a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

How the fund actually invests

Sapphire Equity Long-Short SIF is Franklin Templeton's first Specialized Investment Fund strategy — an open-ended quantitative long/short equity strategy benchmarked to Nifty 500 TRI, carrying Risk Band Level 5, and unusually issued at a face value of Rs 1,000 per unit rather than Rs 10.

A quant-driven long/short equity mandate. The ISID states the objective as: "The investment strategy seeks to generate alpha over the long term by investing across a spectrum of large, mid and small cap companies using long/short equity strategies," with the usual caveat that there is no assurance the objective will be achieved. It is categorised as an Equity Long-Short Fund, code FSIF/O/E/ELSF/25/10/0001/FTMF, and described as "An open-ended equity investment strategy investing in listed equity and equity related instruments including limited short exposure in equity through derivative instruments."

Face value is Rs 1,000 per unit — verified. This is the point most likely to confuse investors comparing NAVs across SIFs. The ISID cover page reads "Offer of units of Rs. 1000 each for cash during the New Fund Offer and Continuous offer for Units at NAV based prices," the New Fund Offer Price is stated as "Rs. 1000 price per unit," and the Plans and Options section states plainly: "All the plans have a common portfolio. The face value of the Units is Rs.1000 each." A NAV in the Rs 1,000-1,030 range therefore reflects a small percentage move from par, not a hundredfold gain.

Asset allocation and the 25% unhedged short cap. The ISID's indicative allocation (as a % of total assets) is: Equity and equity related instruments 80%-100%; Short exposure through unhedged derivative positions in equity and equity related instruments 0%-25%; Debt, money market instruments (excluding instruments/securities kept for margin purpose), InvITs, Exchange Traded Funds and units of debt mutual fund schemes 0%-20%. A footnote records that equity and equity related instruments include both long and short equity positions, and that at least 65% of total proceeds are invested in equity shares of domestic companies listed on a recognised stock exchange. Derivatives for hedging and portfolio rebalancing are capped at up to 50% of net assets; derivatives for non-hedging purposes at up to 25% of net assets.

A macro overlay on top of a multi-factor stock-selection model. The ISID describes the approach as combining "a top-down macro model for dynamic capital allocation with a bottom-up proprietary active quantitative multi-factor model for stock selection." The macro model — built on macro indicators, street sentiment and index valuation — drives gross exposure, with long exposure moved between 75% and 100% and unhedged short exposure between 0% and 25%, "rising in periods of macro uncertainty or negative outlooks." Stock selection uses five primary factors: Quality, Innovation, Value, Sentiment and Alternatives, with liquidity, market-cap and data-history screens governing the investable universe.

Fully open-ended, unlisted, with daily dealing. Unlike interval SIF strategies, subscription and redemption frequency are both "Daily on all business days," and the ISID states "The Strategy is not listed." Redemption proceeds are to be dispatched within the regulatory limit of 3 working days of a valid request, with AMFI guidance putting the payment cycle at 2 days. Minimum application is INR 10,00,000 during the NFO or as a first-time investment post-NFO, in multiples of 10,000; additional investments are a minimum of INR 10,000 in multiples of INR 1,000; and minimum redemption/switch-out is Rs 10,000.

Fund mechanics

Benchmark
Nifty 500 TRI. The ISID notes "The benchmark is most suited considering the investment objective and portfolio of the strategy." Benchmark risk band: Level 3
Asset allocation
Indicative allocation as % of total assets: Equity and equity related instruments 80%-100%; Short exposure through unhedged derivative positions in equity and equity related instruments 0%-25%; Debt, money market instruments (excluding instruments/securities kept for margin purpose), InvITs, Exchange Traded Funds and units of debt mutual fund schemes 0%-20%. At least 65% of total proceeds are invested in equity shares of domestic listed companies
Unhedged short cap
0%-25% of total assets as short exposure through unhedged derivative positions per the asset allocation table; the indicative table caps derivatives for non-hedging and other than hedging/portfolio rebalancing purposes at up to 25% of net assets in exchange traded derivative instruments. Derivatives for hedging and portfolio rebalancing: up to 50% of net assets
Exit load
1% if units are redeemed within one year of allotment; NIL thereafter
Minimum investment
During NFO or first-time investment post-NFO: INR 10,00,000 and multiples of 10,000 thereafter. Additional investment on continuous basis for existing investors: minimum INR 10,000 and in multiples of INR 1,000 thereafter. Minimum redemption/switch out: Rs 10,000. Subject to the SIF minimum investment threshold
Subscription/redemption
Open-ended. Subscription frequency: daily on all business days. Redemption frequency: daily on all business days. The Strategy is not listed. Redemption proceeds despatched within the regulatory time limit of 3 working days of a valid request (AMFI payment cycle of 2 days). No notice period
Plans & options
Growth Plan; IDCW Plan (with Reinvestment and Payout options); Direct - Growth Plan; Direct - IDCW Plan (with Reinvestment and Payout options). All plans have a common portfolio. Default Plan is Direct Plan; default Option is Growth; default IDCW facility is Reinvestment
Date of allotment
The ISID gives the NFO as opening 10th April 2026 and closing 24th April 2026, with the investment strategy re-opening on 04th May 2026; it does not state an explicit allotment date. Upstox's fund page reports "Launched On 29 Apr 2026."
Risk band
Risk band Level 5 ("RISK LEVEL 5" in the ISID product-labelling table on page 1). Benchmark (Nifty 500 TRI) risk band Level 3. The ISID notes the Risk Band shall be as specified by AMFI and that NFO-stage labelling is based on internal assessment and may vary post-NFO
Face value per unit
Rs 1,000 per unit. ISID: "Offer of units of Rs. 1000 each for cash during the New Fund Offer"; New Fund Offer Price "Rs. 1000 price per unit"; and "All the plans have a common portfolio. The face value of the Units is Rs.1000 each."

Sources: Franklin Templeton — Sapphire Equity Long-Short SIF, Investment Strategy Information Document (ISID), dated March 26, 2026 · Franklin Templeton — Sapphire Equity Long-Short SIF, Key Information Memorandum (KIM) · Franklin Templeton — Sapphire SIF fund overview page. Scheme facts are as disclosed by the AMC at the time of writing; fund managers, load structures and allocation bands can change — always read the current SID/KIM before investing.

Documents & source files

Everything on this page traces back to a document Franklin Templeton published. Here they are, so you can read the primary source yourself rather than take our word for it.

When new documents appear. AMCs publish the previous month's factsheet and portfolio disclosure in the first week or so of each month — so from around the 8th you can generally expect the prior month-end file. Our desk re-checks every AMC on that cycle and updates the holdings and figures on this page. Links point to the AMC's own site, so you always land on their current file, not a stale copy of ours.

Every Equity Long-Short SIF we track

All Equity Long-Short funds we track, with their latest NAV, trailing returns, size and risk level. This fund is highlighted. Click a column heading to sort the table; the # column then shows each fund's position on that column. It is arithmetic on the period you chose, not a rating or a recommendation. Most SIFs are young, so check each fund's age before comparing. Open any fund's page from its name, or use the compare tool for a side-by-side view.

#NAV
Loading live data…

“—” means the fund is too young for that period or the figure isn't disclosed yet. Default order: 3-month return. NAV and returns follow the plan selected above (Growth option); AUM and risk level from Value Research.

What an Equity Long-Short SIF actually does

Holds at least 80% in equity and equity-related instruments, with unhedged short exposure of up to 25% of net assets taken through derivatives — an all-cap approach with a derivative overlay.

Every Specialized Investment Fund sits between mutual funds and PMS: a ₹10 lakh minimum (aggregated per PAN per AMC), SEBI's Chapter VI-C framework, and mutual-fund-grade taxation — equity-oriented strategies attract 12.5% LTCG after 12 months. Learn the mechanics on our What is a SIF page, or read the August 2026 Coverage Report.

On sourcing. The scheme facts on this page are taken from the AMC's own Scheme Information Document, Investment Strategy Information Document and Key Information Memorandum, with the source linked above. The live NAV comes from AMFI; AUM and risk level from Value Research; the expense ratio from AMFI. Where a detail is not disclosed by the AMC we say so rather than estimate it — we never guess a number.

Questions about this fund?

SIFs carry a ₹10 lakh minimum and real derivative risk. Talk to a Trustner relationship manager — 20 minutes, no fee, no obligation. We are an AMFI-registered distributor (ARN-286886); we do not provide personalised investment advice.

Book a call → Compare with other SIFs Back to all 33 SIFs
Who runs the money

The management team

The people named as designated fund managers in the scheme's official disclosures. Fund managers can change over the life of a scheme — verify against the current KIM before investing.

AJ
Arihant Jain
Named in the KIM as "Name of the Fund Manager: Arihant Jain" and in the ISID with the designation Portfolio Manager / Senior Investment Analyst. Age 29; Bachelor of Engineering (Hons), BITS Pilani; CFA Charterholder; 8 years of total experience. Previously Senior Investment Analyst at Franklin Templeton Services (India) Pvt Ltd, Senior Associate at MSCI (2020-2022), Analyst at Morgan Stanley (2018-2020) and Quant Research Analyst at Quant One (2017-2018).
Trustner relationship manager
Talk to us 1:1 about how Sapphire Equity Long-Short works, its terms and the paperwork. 20 minutes. No fee.
Book a call →